History and visit the Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet church in Paris
The Church of Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet is a parish church of classic style that is at 23 rue Bernardine in Saint-Victor area in the 5th arrondissement of Paris. Erected beside the house of Mutuality, it was built between 1656 and 1763 and decorated by Charles Le Brun, the official painter of Versailles.
The facade of the church is the most recent part, while the square tower is the oldest. To give more space to the Boulevard Saint-Germain, a part of the back cover has been transformed by Baltard, the creator of Les Halles. The church is known as the Paris site traditionalist of the Catholic Church, which desires to return to pre-Vatican II practice of preaching the Mass in Latin and aims to establish the non-separation the state and the church, as the two were separated in France since 1905. The church has been illegally occupied by members of the Society of St. Pius X (SSPX) in 1977. The occupation by traditionalists or fundamentalists was still tolerated, although the priests involved were excommunicated.
From the outside, the church Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet is assezagreable to see despite the fact that she is not beautiful. It is obvious that we should go into a church in order to know its inside and discover a simple building can hide a beautiful interior. The Church of Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet offers a sense of well-being and is maintained by the parishioners. His organ dating from the eighteenth century and its exquisite crystal chandeliers are simply dazzling.
The Church of Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet a few features that make its charm, as the epistles which are played by French priests, the Gospels are read in Latin before then be repeated in French, there was a second "Confiteor" at Holy Communion and leonine prayers were in Latin. This somewhat conservative appearance of the church gives it a unique character. The church has always been tension vis-à-vis the Vatican for its fundamentalist character, a situation that Pope Benedict XVI has improved by removing the four bishops excommunicate involved.
The Church of Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet a significant role in history, because it is in this church were buried many famous people such as Jean de Selve, Adrien Bourdoise, Charles Le Brun, Jérôme Bignon, Jean de Santeul, Nicolas Le Gendre, Pierre Voyer and many others. The church houses the treasures and relics of great importance for the Catholic Church. It was in this church that Hippolytus Feret exposed to the public a vial containing the liquid flowing bones of Saint-Nicolas, certified by the religious rulers. The church also houses the relic of the right of His Holiness Victor foot. The relics that have been exposed are not the least, if we are talking about the sacred vessels and relics of the cross of Christ.
Rich in history, this church was elevated to a monument on February 10 of the year 1887 and included in the inventory in the Official Journal of 18 April 1914, for the day of February 20, 1905 are the many tables and various sculptures in the church that have been added to the inventory of historical monuments. This site is open to visitors on line 10 of the metro station Maubert Mutuality.
Transfer to Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet church in Paris
The Church of Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet is located 18.5 kilometers from Orly Airport, 32.8 miles from Roissy Charles de Gaulle airport and 100 km from the airport of Beauvais.