History and visit the Rue Vertbois Street in Paris
Vertbois Street, a street in Paris’s 3rd arrondissement, rue Turbigo connects to the rue Saint-Martin. It is located in the Arts and Crafts and has a length of 413 meters and a width of 10 meters. Before 1851, the portion between the rue du Temple and rue Volta was called Rue Neuve-Saint-Laurent.
To the 17th century bore the name Vertbois Street “Gaillard-Bois.” Street then changed its name to Vertbois Street in reference to a wood priory of Saint-Martin-des-Champs which the enclosure was built during the 12th century. Vertbois tower, located at the corner of the Rue Saint-Martin, was saved from imminent demolition by some Parisian antique dealers in 1877.
On the street between St. Martin and Rue Volta were rental houses picturesque, mostly built by the monks in the early 18th century. Filing Saint-Martin was not far from the fountain of Greenwood. The street still retains much of its nostalgia despite the loss of these historic buildings.
The priory of Saint-Martin-des-Champs, now converted into a museum of arts and crafts, becoming a center of interest must for tourists passing near Greenwood Street. The street is also a large part of its fame to the gourmet restaurant “L’Ami Louis.” This is a restaurant frequented by the stars of the screen as well as several American politicians.
Transfer to Vertbois Street in Paris
Street Vertbois is 19.1 kilometers from Orly Airport to 26.9 km from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 87.3 km from Paris Beauvais airport.