History and visit the rue Git-le-Coeur
The rue Git-le-Coeur belongs to the 6th arrondissement of Paris. Located in the neighborhood Mint, it starts at No. 23 Quai des Grands-Augustins and ends at No. 28 Rue Saint-André-des-Arts. The street has a length of 112 meters and a width of 10 meters.
Built in the 13th century, the street successively carried various names. Firstly, this street was known as Guy and Gilles Queux who was a famous cook. After she was named in 1275 rue Guy-le-Preux and street Gui-le-Comte in the 14th century. In 1540, the Gilles-le-Street Cooks has received various names such as Guille Queulx, Villequeux, Gui Villequeux, Lequeux, Gille the Heart and the Heart Gist to reach the current name rue Git-le-Heart.
The rue Git-le-Coeur is lined with several monuments that continue to attract tourists. At No. 4 is the home of Leopold Collin who was a publisher and bookseller in 1822 and became the Cercle de la Librairie. No. 5 has a former hotel Séguier then O Hotel and Hotel de Luynes from the 16th century and 17th century. This hotel is a historical monument since 14 December 2006. Weapons room is still at No. 6 in 1886.
Visitors can still see some of the other historic buildings along this street namely: Racou hotel at No. 9 will become the Beat Hotel. Chester Himes and many American authors traveled to Paris between 1950 and 1963 stayed at this hotel. No. 10 was occupied by F. Bush, publisher and bookseller. Finally, the No. 12 home to the third movie theater Saint-André-des-Arts
Transfer to rue Git-le-Coeur in Paris
The rue Git-le-Coeur is located 20.0 km from Orly airport, 34.2 km from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 89.6 km from Paris Beauvais airport.