History and visit the Boulevard Beaumarchais
Boulevard Beaumarchais part in the 3rd arrondissement of Paris. It begins at the Place de la Bastille, it connects the Boulevard des Filles-du-Calvaire and ends at the junction of the rue du Pont-aux-Choux with Saint Sebastian. Boulevard Beaumarchais has a length of 750 meters and a width of 35 meters. The metro Bastille, Chemin Vert and Saint-Sébastien – Froissart serve the boulevard.
Built in 1670, the boulevard was once called boulevard Saint-Antoine. Was given its current name in 1831 in honor of the playwright (1732-1799). It was in 1787 that Beaumarchais appropriated land a large bastion which was at the end of the boulevard, next to the Place de la Bastille, and built a beautiful house with a beautiful garden which survived until 1818 .
The year 1845 showed significant changes on the boulevard. Against alienating the sidewalks in the southern part, the municipal administration erected on their site a series of beautiful stone houses, loaded with ornaments and sculptures that have transformed the Boulevard Beaumarchais to a public road equally superb as regular where trade began to develop.
Tourists can admire the historic buildings lining the boulevard. Guimard is a shrine to No. 2. It is classified as a historical monument since 1978. Can be found at No. 4 MK2 cinema Bastille and No. 10 a theater and dance. Visitors can also admire the No. 23 Sagonne hotel or hotel Mansart with its beautiful garden, and in No. 28 the bakery Beaumarchais classified as historical monuments.
Transfer to the Boulevard Beaumarchais in Paris
Boulevard Beaumarchais is located 18.3 km from Orly airport, 27.6 km from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 89.5 km from Paris Beauvais airport