- 1. History and visit the Rue du Regard in Paris
- 2. Architectural Highlights
- 3. Transfer to the Rue du Regard in Paris
1. History and visit the Rue du Regard in Paris
The rue du Regard belongs to the 6th arrondissement of Paris and is specifically located in the neighborhood of Notre-Dame-des-Champs. Connecting rue de Vaugirard to Rue de Rennes, it has a rich history dating back to the 16th century. The street is served by Lines 4 and M at Saint-Placide Station.
Originally, in the 16th century, this street was a mere path known as “Herbu way.” Its name underwent several changes: first to Rue de la Fosse, then to Ausmonier from 1529, and in 1646, it was named the “Descent of Montargis.” The street was officially renamed as rue du Regard in 1680, in reference to a prominent fountain that offered a picturesque view.
Starting at No. 37 rue du Cherche-Midi and ending at No. 116 Rue de Rennes, the rue du Regard measures 253 meters in length and has a width of 12 meters. In the early to mid-19th century, the street gained prominence for hosting new fountains designed by Jean-François Bralle. One of these fountains, named Leda, was later transferred to the Luxembourg Gardens.
2. Architectural Highlights
This historical street is home to several buildings listed as historical monuments. Notably, it was once the site of the former military prison known as “Prison Cherchemidi.” The infamous Captain Dreyfus was imprisoned here until 1959. This prison was eventually replaced by the “Maison des Sciences de l’Homme,” an academic institution.
3. Transfer to the Rue du Regard in Paris
Situated at a distance of 16 km from Orly airport, the rue du Regard is 35.2 km away from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 88.9 km from Paris Beauvais airport. Transportation to and from the airport can be easily arranged for those interested in visiting this historical and culturally rich street.