History and visit Rue du Foin in Paris
Rue du Foin is a street in the 3rd arrondissement of Paris. This street was created in 1597. It begins at 3 rue de Béarn and ends at No. 30 rue de Turenne. Rue du Foin has a length of 104 meters and a width of 10 meters.
This road, connecting rue de Turenne to rue de Béarn, was opened on land grazing dependent on Turrets park. The opening of Rue du Foin was closely linked to the movement of subdivision aiming to improve the rear of the Place des Vosges. This movement, which began in the reign of King Louis XIII, continued throughout the 17th century.
Rue du Foin boasts only a few historical buildings, including the remnant of the hotel Tresmes. This building, erected during the reign of King Louis XIII, stood out due to its grandeur as this hotel extended to the rue des Minims (No. 17). At No. 9, there was a school managed by the Sisters of St. Vincent de Paul. Despite the limited number of historic buildings along Rue du Foin, the street retains a distinctive charm.
Historical records don’t mention many famous personalities who lived in this street, save for the architect A. Lepautre. Presently, Rue du Foin is among the contemporary streets of Paris. It is lined with large, magnificent buildings, most of which gleam with their modern architecture, marked by numerous windows.
Transfer to Rue du Foin in Paris
Rue du Foin in Paris is located 17.7 km from Orly airport, 27.6 km from Charles de Gaulle Airport, and 88.9 km from Paris Beauvais airport.